Foreign Language Competence

This part of the curriculum, also known as "the basic course", varies from department to department. Basically, it is designed to enable the students to aquire and improve their foreign language skills. The basic course usually lasts two semesters.

In the non-school languages like Arabic, Chinese, Dutch and Russian, you take part in introductory courses which are hold in the form of lectures and further courses which are based on teacher-centered teaching. In the school languages English and French, you do not start from the basics but still you are confronted with teacher-centered teaching.

The question is what "competence of foreign language" really is. Does it mean to learn vocabulary and grammatical rules by heart so that you repeat them in examinations? Is it knowledge without a context? Knowledge about a language forms without learning the language as a whole? Alternatively, does it mean to develop a sense for the language to feel competent in the use of different style levels and registers in the foreign language? Or is the competence of foreign language more more what???

"Part of learning a language well is watching the body language of native speakers  when they speak: how they move their mouths, how they gesture and shift their weight, how they stumble over words, where and how they pause, how they use stress for emphasis, [...] you have to intuit, sense what their bodies are doing inside, sense how they feel when they speak." (Douglas Robinson The Translator's Turn, 1991) Aus "A Social Constructivist Approach to Translator Education", von Don Kiraly, 2000

Cultural Science (basic and main studies)

The aim of cultural studies is to promote the understanding of ones own culture as well as foreign cultures, and the ability to understand intercultural communication. The catalog of topics includes, among others, appropriate cultural sociological terms and methods; the description of cultures and social systems with their institutions, values, and behaviour patterns; modern literature, history and politics; international organizations.

To cover the module "Cultural Science" you follow regional courses which partly take place in the form of lectures and end with a final exam. Introductory seminars or advanced seminars are compulsory, also. The topics which are chosen by the students vary as well as the requirements. With the possibility to choose themselves, the students are able to arrange their personal main focus of their studies.


Linguistic and Translation Studies (basic and advanced studies)

This part of the studies includes linguistic and translation studies. Here the students receive an insight into the science of translation and become familiar with recent theories of translation. In linguistic lectures and seminars, you learn about the structure and function of language.

Complementary Subjects

The students can choose from the following range of complementary subjects. Computer science, medicine, law, technology and economy. On the basis of their complementary subject, the students learn the basics of the field and the methodical preconditions to find the special terminology. In this manner, they learn the basics of dealing with different fields on their own. The studies of the complementary subject start in the third semester and end with an exam.

 

Translating

During basic studies you translate general texts. The lecturer chooses the topics. This is the typical form of a translation practice course: the students read their translations which they have done at home. Afterwards, the lecturer and the fellow students discuss the suggestions. It may happen that you need the entire time of one session, which lasts for one and a half hour, to discuss one small section of the text. In some cases, you translate only one basic text during the whole semester. This means that the students do not learn how to translate with quality and speed. In professional life you normaly have to translate 500 words per hour.
During advanced studies, you translate general texts as well as specialized texts with the lecturer choosing the topics.

 

Interpreting

During basic studies, introductory courses for interpreting are not compulsory. However, most students enrolled for interpreting follow interpreting practice courses from the beginning of their studies. The introductory course ends with an examination in consecutive interpreting (from A-language into B-language and from C-language into A-language) as well as in simultaneous interpreting (B-language into A-language).
During advanced studies, all students follow interpreting practice courses. As with translation practice courses, the teachers choose what texts the students deal with. In general, the texts have a connection to current world events, such as international politicians' speeches. There is also a course for specialist texts from the fields of technology, environment, economy, computing science etc.


Vordiplom (intermediate exam)


This exam is the same for translators and interpreters. There are four examinations: three 2-hour translation exams (B>A, A>B, C>A) and a 30-minute oral exam in linguistics and translation science based on the linguistic undergraduate seminar completed in the B-language. If you fail the Vordiplom, you can try once again. If you take the exam before the 4th semester, you can fail once without consequences.


Diplom (degree)

Usually, you take the Diplom -exam during the 9th semester. For translating, it consists of the following exams: six 5-hour translation exams (B>A, A>B, C>A in general texts, B>A, A>B and C>A in specialised texts) as well as oral exams in linguistics in your B-language and cultural science in your C-language.
Your final grade is composed of the individual grades for the thesis, the complementary subject, the second optional module and the written and oral Diplom-examinations.
For interpreting, the Diplom-examination consists of three exams in consecutive interpreting (B>A, A>B, C>A) and three exams in simultaneous interpreting (B>A, A>B, C>A). The oral exams are the same as for translating. If you take the Diplom-exam before the 9th semester, you can fail once without consequences.


And what comes after graduation?

Fremdsprachliche Kompetenz

Oder auch der Grundkurs genannt, variiert von Institut zu Institut. Grundsätzlich dient der Grundkurs zum Erwerb und zur Erweiterung von Sprachkenntnissen. Der Grundkurs erstreckt sich in der Regel über die ersten zwei Semester.

In den Nicht-Schulsprachen wie zum Beispiel Arabisch, Chinesisch, Niederländisch oder Russisch besucht man Einführungskurse. Diese werden in Form von Vorlesungen und anderen auf dem Frontalunterricht basierenden Veranstaltungen gehalten. In den Schulsprachen Englisch und Französisch fängt man zwar nicht von Null an, wird dennoch mit Frontalunterricht konfrontiert.

Hier stellt sich natürlich die Frage, was mit der "Fremdsprachlichen Kompetenz" gemeint ist: stures Auswendiglernen von Vokabeln und Grammatikregeln, die man bei einer Prüfung wieder "ausspuckt"; zusammenhangloses, punktuelles Wissen, ohne sich die Fremdsprache als Ganzes zu eigen zu machen. Oder: Sprachgefühl entwickeln und sich im Gebrauch von verschiedenen Stilebenen und Sprachregistern der Fremdsprache kompetent fühlen. Oder geht die fremdsprachliche Kompetenz sogar noch weiter?

"Part of learning a language well is watching what native speakers' bodies do when they speak it: how they move their mouths, how they gesture and shift their weight, how the stumble over words, where and how they pause, how they use stress for emphasis, [...] you have to intuit, sense what their bodies are doing inside, sense how they feel when they speak." (Douglas Robinson The Translator's Turn, 1991) Aus "A Social Constructivist Approach to Translator Education", von Don Kiraly, 2000

Kulturwissenschaft (Grund- und Hauptstudium)

Ziel der kulturwissenschaftlichen Studien ist es, fremd- und eigenkulturelles Verstehen und die Fähigkeit zur interkulturellen Kommunikation zu fördern. Der Themenkatalog umfasst u.a. einschlägige kultursoziologische Begriffe und Methoden; die Beschreibung von Kulturen und Gesellschaftsformen mit ihren Institutionen, Werten und Verhaltensmustern; moderne Literatur, Geschichte und Politik; internationale Organisationen.

Um das Modul “Kulturwissenschaft abzudecken, besucht man landeskundliche Veranstaltungen, die unter anderem in Form von Vorlesungen stattfinden und die am Ende des Semesters mit einer Klausur abgeschlossen werden. Proseminare bzw. Hauptseminare müssen auch besucht werden, wobei die Themengebiete und die Anforderungen stark variieren und von Studierenden frei wählbar sind. So können die Studierenden ihre Studienschwerpunkte selbst festlegen.


Sprach-/ und Translationswissenschaft (Grund- und Hauptstudium)

Dieser Teil des Studiums umfasst sprachwissenschaftliche und übersetzungswissenschaftliche Studien. Hier erhalten die Studierenden Einblick in das Gebiet der Übersetzungswissenschaft und werden mit dem aktuellen Stand der Übersetzungstheorien vertraut gemacht. In sprachwissenschaftlichen Veranstaltungen wie Vorlesungen und Proseminaren – lernt man über den Aufbau und die Funktion der Sprache.

Ergänzungsfächer

E-Fächer sind Informatik, Medizin, Recht, Technik und Wirtschaft. Die Studierenden wählen aus diesem Angebot ein Ergänzungsfach. Anhand des Ergänzungsfaches werden ihnen in exemplarischer Form die Grundfragen des Fachgebietes und die methodischen Voraussetzungen für die Einarbeitung in die jeweilige Terminologie aufgezeigt und somit die Grundlagen für eine selbständige Einarbeitung in andere Fachgebiete geschaffen. Das Studium des Ergänzungsfaches beginnt im 3. Semester und wird nach dem 6. Semester mit der Ergänzungsfachprüfung abgeschlossen.

 

Übersetzen

Im Grundstudium übersetzt man gemeinsprachliche Texte. Es obliegt dem jeweiligen Dozenten, welche Themengebiete dabei behandelt werden. Eine typische Übersetzungsübung läuft so ab: die Studierenden lesen nacheinander aus einem zu Hause vorbereiteten Text einzelne Sätze vor; der Dozent und die Kommilitonen diskutieren anschließend, ob die jeweilige Lösung adäquat ist. Es kann schon mal vorkommen, dass man für einen kleinen Absatz anderthalb Stunden - die für eine Übersetzungsübung vorgesehene Zeit –- braucht. In manchen Fällen wird ein durchschnittlich langer Text ein ganzes Semester lang übersetzt. D.h. Studierende werden nicht darauf geschult, Übersetzungen in hoher Qualität schnell anzufertigen. (im Berufsalltag sind 500 Wörter pro Stunde die Norm)
Im Hauptstudium übersetzt man sowohl gemeinsprachliche als auch fachsprachliche Texte. In der Regel entscheidet der jeweilige Dozent (in einzelnen Fällen die Studierenden) welche Texte übersetzt werden.

 

Dolmetschen

Im Grundstudium ist es den Studierenden freigestellt, Einführungen ins Dolmetschen zu besuchen. Die meisten Studierenden, die für das Dolmetschen eingeschrieben sind, besuchen jedoch von Anfang an Dolmetschübungen. Zuerst muss man Einführungsveranstaltungen belegen. Nach der Teilnahme am Dolmetschen 1 muss man das Probedolmetschen bestehen. Hierbei muss man einen Text konsekutiv aus der B- in die A-Sprache und umgekehrt aus der C-in die A-Sprache, sowie einen Text aus der B- in die A-Sprache simultan dolmetschen.
Im Hauptstudium fängt man dann spätestens mit Dolmetschübungen an. Auch hier entscheidet der Dozent, mit welchen Texten die Studierenden sich auseinandersetzen müssen. Generell wählen die Dozenten meist Texte aus dem aktuellen Weltgeschehen, häufig Reden von internationalen Politikern aus. Es gibt auch einen Kurs "Fachtexte" in denen Texte aus Technik, Umwelt, Wirtschaft, Informatik u.a. behandelt werden.


Vordiplom


Die Vorprüfung ist für angehende Diplom-Übersetzer und -Dolmetscher identisch. Diese besteht aus 4 Prüfungen: 3 Übersetzungsklausuren à 2 Stunden (B>A, A>B, C>A) und einer mündlichen Prüfung über eine halbe Stunde in Sprach-/ bzw. Translationswissenschaft, die auf dem sprachwissenschaftlichen Proseminar in in der B-Sprache basiert. Wenn man die Vorprüfung nicht besteht, hat man einen weiteren Versuch. Wer vor bzw. im 4.Semester zur Vordiplomsprüfung antritt, hat einen Freiversuch.


Diplom

Die Diplomprüfungen sind für das 9.Semester vorgesehen. Diese bestehen beim Übersetzen aus folgenden Prüfungen: 6 Übersetzungsklausuren à 5 Stunden (B>A, A<B , C>A mit gemeinsprachlichen Texten, B>A, A>B und C>A mit Fachtexten), sowie mündlichen Prüfungen in Kulturwissenschaft und Sprachwissenschaft im Erstfach und Kulturwissenschaft im Zweitfach.
Die Endnote des Diploms setzt sich zusammen aus den Noten der Diplomarbeit, der E-Fachprüfung, des Wahlpflichtmoduls 2 sowie den schriftlichen und mündlichen Diplomprüfungen.
Die Diplomprüfung beim Dolmetschen besteht aus den folgenden Elementen: Konsekutivdolmetschen (B>A, C>A, A>B) sowie Simultandolmetschen (B>A, A>B, C>A). Die mündlichen Prüfungen sind identisch mit denen des Übersetzerstudienganges. Wenn man die Diplomprüfung nicht besteht, hat man einen weiteren Versuch. Wer vor bzw. im 9.Semester zur Diplomprüfung antritt, hat einen Freiversuch.


Diplom und weiter?