Project ASMI (Andreas Schnepf Medical Informatics)

At the end of Don Kiraly's German-English translation course in the winter semester 1999/2000, we - Ute Gerwert, Kerstin Hartmann, and Andrea Dannhäuser, translated the ASMI web pages

The ASMI company primarily installs computer systems in hospitals?. This is a very specific field that had never been dealt with in a general translation course before. We had only a little time to familiarise ourselves with the terminology, but this only intensified the feeling of having accomplished something when we handed in our translation. Since it was an authentic project, we obviously had to conduct research. This had to be done much more thoroughly than it would have been the case in regular class, and it helped us to enhance our skills in that respect, also. And, finally, working with the computer to create the English web pages was also "virgin land" for us. In doing that, we realised that it is extremely necessary to be able and willing to work in a team. It became evident that we had to work on our own initiative, instead of expecting the teacher to help us out with every problem we encountered. We learnt to take responsibility, which was not required in regular translation courses.

By contacting our client via e-mail, we managed to solve some field-specific problems. Nevertheless, translating the "catchy" slogans on the pages, which were intended to encourage potential customers to contact the company, was not easy. Especially in this case, our teacher's advice as a native speaker was indispensable. Together, we managed to translate the slogans in a way that satisfied not only us, but also our client.

Before we accepted the job of translating the web pages, we had negotiated a fee with our client. After we had handed in our translation, the money was donated to "Zukunft für Kinder - Aldea Laura e.V." ("A Future for Children - Aldea Laura charity") to support their work in Central America. We were especially happy about Mr. Andreas Schnepf's personal contribution and we would like to take this opportunity to thank him again.

The donation was not only the beginning of a good relationship with the people at Aldea Laura, but it also resulted in another authentic project at the FASK (School of Applied Linguistics and Cultural Studies) in Germersheim. You can find more information about that project and what was accomplished during its course on these pages.


Section Homepage

Projekt Andreas Schnepf Medizinische Informatik (ASMI)

Im Wintersemester 1999/2000 übersetzten wir, Ute Gerwert, Kerstin Hartmann und Andrea Dannhäuser, zum Abschluss der Übersetzungsübung D-E bei Dr. Don Kiraly die Internet-Seiten von ASMI (Andreas Schnepf Medizinische Informatik).

Das Unternehmen ASMI richtet vorrangig Computeranlagen in Arztpraxen ein, ein sehr spezieller Bereich, der bis dahin in keiner gemeinsprachlichen Übersetzungsübung behandelt worden war. Die Einarbeitungszeit in die Terminologie fiel recht kurz aus, was allerdings das Erfolgsgefühl bei der Übergabe nur noch hob. Da wir an einem authentischen Projekt arbeiteten, mußten wir uns natürlich auch mit Recherche befassen. Dies geschah viel umfassender als in normalem Unterricht, wodurch wir auch in diesem Bereich viel dazulernten. Auch die Arbeit mit dem Computer für die Erstellung der englischen Internet-Seiten war für uns "Neuland". Ganz besonders fiel uns in dieser Hinsicht auf, wie nötig es ist im Team arbeiten zu können und zu wollen. Es stellte sich heraus, dass man bei dieser Arbeit Eigeninitiative zeigen muss und sich nicht nur auf die Hilfestellung des Dozenten verlassen darf. Wir haben gelernt, Verantwortung zu übernehmen, was bei gewöhnlichen Übersetzungsübungen nicht gefordert wurde.

Durch den E-Mail Kontakt zum Auftraggeber wurden einige fachliche Probleme geklärt. Knifflig waren allerdings auch die "schmissigen" Slogans auf den Seiten, die mögliche Kunden zum Kontakt mit dem Unternehmen animieren sollten. Hier war das Feingefühl unseres muttersprachlichen Dozenten besonders gefragt. Gemeinsam konnten wir eine Übersetzung erstellen, die nicht nur uns, sondern auch unserem Auftraggeber zusagte.

Für die Übersetzung der Seiten hatten wir mit unserem Auftraggeber vor Beginn der Arbeit ein Honorar vereinbart, das nach Abgabe an "Zukunft für Kinder - Aldea Laura e. V." für deren Arbeit in Zentralamerika gespendet wurde. Ganz besonders freuten uns über das persönliche Geschenk von Herrn Andreas Schnepf, wofür ihm hiermit noch einmal herzlich gedankt sei.

Aus der Spende an Aldea Laura resultierte nicht nur eine gute Beziehung mit den Verantwortlichen, sondern auch ein weiteres authentisches Projekt am FASK in Germersheim. Näheres zu diesem Projekt und den erfreulichen Ergebnissen finden sie auch auf diesen Seiten.


Hauptseite