The DIN 2345 standard



The DIN 2345 standard was published by the German Institute for Standardization in 1998. This standard contains different conditions for concluding contracts between translators and clients. We would like to give a short overview of the five sections of the DIN standard.

1) Original text:

The client is responsible for the linguistic and technical correctness of the original text. He is obliged to inform the translator about mistakes he finds afterwards. The client should also be available for the translator to answer questions. It is the translator's responsibility to acquire the necessary subject related knowledge. He may also contact experts to obtain such information.


2) Choosing the translator

In his own interest, the client should only choose competent translators. The following criteria should be considered:

3) Setting up a contract between client and translator

The translator receives the original text or at least further information. After accepting the job, the translator sends a cost estimate to the client. If a contract is drawn up, it should contain the following points:


4) Target text

The target text must correspond to the linguistic standards of the target language, and the content must be true to the original text. If there is no further agreement with the client, footnotes, appendices and tables must be translated as well. The client must be informed about parts that are not translated or added to the translation. The translator's comments must be marked clearly. Formal aspects such as numberings and tables must be copied from the original text, whereas symbols and measurements must be adjusted to the target language.


5) Proofreading

Every translation should be checked for the following criteria before it is handed over to the client:


For anyone, who would like to know more, there is further information available in German:

DIN Norm 2345



Die DIN Norm 2345 wurde 1998 vom Deutschen Institut für Normung e.V. veröffentlicht. In ihr sind verschiedene Bedingungen aufgeführt, unter denen Verträge zwischen Übersetzern und Auftraggebern abgeschlossen werden können. Hier wollen wir nun einen kurzen Überblick über die 5 verschiedenen Teilbereiche der DIN Norm geben.

1) Ausgangstext:
Der Auftraggeber ist für die sprachliche und fachliche Korrektheit des Ausgangstextes verantwortlich und ist verpflichtet, den Übersetzer zu informieren, sollte er nachträglich Fehler entdecken. Außerdem sollte er für Rückfragen des Übersetzers zur Verfügung stehen. Der Übersetzer hingegen hat die Aufgabe, sich das nötige Fachwissen anzueignen. Dabei hat er auch die Möglichkeit, auf das Fachwissen von Experten zurückzugreifen.


2)Auswahl des Übersetzers
Der Auftraggeber sollte im eigenen Interesse nur qualifizierte Übersetzer beauftragen. Dabei sollten folgende Kriterien beachtet werden:
3)Vertragsabschluß zwischen Auftraggeber und Übersetzer
Der Übersetzer erhält den Ausgangstext oder zumindest Informationsmaterial. Bei Annahme des Auftrags lässt der Übersetzer dem Auftraggeber einen Kostenvoranschlag zukommen. Kommt ein Vertrag zustande, sollte dieser folgende Punkte beinhalten:


4) Zieltext
Der Zieltext muss den sprachlichen Standards der Zielsprache entsprechen und den Inhalt des Ausgangstextes originalgetreu wiedergeben. Fußnoten, Anhänge und Tabellen müssen, soweit nicht anders mit dem Auftraggeber vereinbart, ebenfalls übersetzt werden. Der Auftraggeber ist über alle nicht übersetzten oder hinzugefügten Passagen zu informieren. Die Anmerkungen des Übersetzers müssen deutlich gekennzeichnet werden. Formale Aspekte wie z.B. Nummerierungen und Tabellen müssen vom Ausgangstext übernommen werden, während Symbole und Maßeinheiten der Zielsprache angepasst werden müssen.


5) Korrekturlesen
Jede Übersetzung sollte auf folgende Kriterien überprüft werden, bevor sie abgegeben wird:


Für alle, die mehr wissen wollen: