FAQ

What does the term 'distance learning' mean?

What are the differences between distance learning and regular study programmes?

Is a degree acquired through distance learning as valid as a “normal” degree? Where can I find further information?

Where can I take a distance learning translation course?

What are the costs?

Do I need a computer and internet access?


What does the term ‘distance learning’ mean?

The Microsoft Encarta World English Dictionary defines the term as follows:

"Distance learning is education for students working at home, with little or no face-to-face with teachers and with material provided remotely, e.g. by e-mail, television, or post."

Apart from distance learning courses offered by universities, there are also distance learning courses offered by private institutions­most often for the purpose of widening professional skills­including secondary school qualifications. The distance learning institutions provide students with teaching material. The courses lead to internal final exams or they prepare students for exams under public law.

Back to top


What are the differences between distance learning and regular study programmes?

Distance learning is significantly more flexible as far as length and place of studies are concerned. It is more diverse since it has a larger target group (including e.g. people who want to widen their professional skills without giving up their current job for a certain period of time) than a regular study programme. Additionally, students need a substantial degree of personal maturity, the ability to manage the studies on their own as well as the capability to work effectively with the necessary equipment.

See our section on the advantages and disadvantages of distance learning for a more detailed comparison of distance learning and regular study programmes.

See also our links page for further information on distance learning.

Back to top


Is a degree acquired through distance learning as valid as a “normal” degree? Where can I find further information?

According to article 22, paragraph 2 of the University Law of Rhineland-Palatinate, a course credit, as provided for in the study and exam regulations, is proved, when a student takes part in an according distance learning unit, provided that the course type of this unit is equivalent to the corresponding course type of a regular study programme. A distance learning unit is equivalent to a regular study programme, when its academic standard and contents are of equal quality and the attainment of the learning objectives is secured. The prerequisites for collecting course credits attained in a distance learning unit are included in the exam regulations.

Back to top


Where can I take a distance learning translation course?

The AKAD, a private university, is the only institute of higher education in Germany to offer a distance learning course with a certified degree in translation. The course is available for the language combination English and German and has its main emphasis is on economics. Students receive 8 units of written learning material and language training programmes on tape. This course of studies is designed for 24 months (with daily work of 2 hours). Eleven seminars usually consisting of several sessions prepare students specifically for the final AKAD exam. Students also have the possibility to attend all sessions of certain seminars in one week. Seminars take place in AKAD study centres in Düsseldorf, Stuttgart and Leipzig. The preparatory courses are held in Stuttgart. For further information see the links page.

Outside of Germany, New York University offers distance learning translation courses. For further information click here.

Back to top


What are the costs?

The costs of the AKAD programme amount to 5.208 Euros for the regular study period of 2 years, which equals 217 Euros per month. Additionally, the boards of education charge a one-off examination fee of approximately 332 Euros at present depending on the Bundesland. This course of studies can be financially supported by the government if it is considered further education.

Back to top


Do I need a computer and Internet access?

The possibility to use a computer and Internet access facilitates studying to a large degree. If you take into account that a professional translator receives his jobs almost exclusively via electronic media, which requires a substantial degree of computer skills, it has to be said that by the end of the studies a computer and Internet access are an absolute necessity to start a successful career. The distance learning course, as such, can actually be completed without these aids. There are courses offered by Linguaphone (www.linguaphone.de) which make only use of books and tapes.

Back to top

FAQ

Was ist Fernstudium? Was ist Fernunterricht?

Wo liegen die Unterschiede zu einem Präsenzstudium?

Wird ein Fernstudium wie jedes andere Studium anerkannt? Woher bekommt man Informationen?

Wo kann man Übersetzen per Fernstudium studieren?

Welche Kosten kommen auf einen zu?

Muss man einen Computer und einen Internetanschluss haben?


Was ist Fernstudium? Was ist Fernunterricht?

Der Brockhaus definiert Fernstudium, bzw Fernunterricht folgendermassen:

Fernstudium ist jedes durch Medien vermittelte Studium, z. B. durch Studienbriefe, Rundfunk (Funkkolleg) oder Fernsehen (Telekolleg).

Fernunterricht ist von privaten Fernlehrinstituten angebotener, meist beruflicher Unterricht (auch Schulabschlüsse), der mittels Studienbriefen erfolgt. Die Fernlehrgänge führen zu internen Abschlussprüfungen oder bereiten auf öffentlich-rechtliche Prüfungen vor.

Zurück nach oben


Wo liegen die Unterschiede zu einem Präsenzstudium?

Ein Fernstudium bietet weitaus mehr Flexibilität hinsichtlich Studienzeit und Studienort. Es ist vielfältiger, da es eine weitaus größere Gruppe von "Lernenden" anspricht als ein Präsenzstudium (u.a. Personen, die sich beruflich weiterbilden möchten ohne den derzeitigen Beruf vorübergehend aufgeben zu müssen). Es fordert den Studierenden außerdem einen weitaus größeren Grad an persönlicher Reife, die Fähigkeit zum "Self-Management" und den sicheren Umgang mit den elektronischen Hilfsmitteln ab.

Um einen detaillierteren Vergleich zu bekommen siehe Vor- und Nachteile des Fernstudiums.

Für Informationen zum Thema Fernstudium siehe Links.

Zurück nach oben


Wird ein Fernstudium wie jedes andere Studium anerkannt?

Aus dem Universitätsgesetz von Rheinland-Pfalz:

22 Fernstudium,

Absatz (2): Eine in einer Studien- oder Prüfungsordnung vorgesehene Studienleistung wird auch durch die erforderliche Teilnahme an einer entsprechenden Fernstudieneinheit nachgewiesen, soweit die Einheit dem entsprechenden Lehrangebot des Präsenzstudiums inhaltlich gleichwertig ist. Ein Fernstudium ist dem Präsenzstudium gleichwertig, wenn es nach seiner Wissenschaftlichkeit, seinen Studieninhalten und Studienzielen nicht hinter einem Präsenzstudium zurücksteht. Die Voraussetzungen für die Anrechnung im Fernstudium erbrachter Studienleistungen sind in der Prüfungsordnung zu regeln.

Zurück nach oben


Wo kann man Übersetzen per Fernstudium studieren?

Der AKAD, eine private Hochschule, bietet als einziges Institut in Deutschland einen Fernstudienkurs mit dem Abschluss staatlich geprüfter Übersetzer in der Sprachkombination Englisch-Deutsch an, dessen Schwerpunkt im Bereich Wirtschaft liegt. Für das Studium zu Hause erhalten die Teilnehmer schriftliches Lernmaterial und Sprachkassetten zu insgesamt acht Modulen verteilt über 24 Monate (bei einem täglichen Arbeitsaufwand von 2 Stunden). Elf meist mehrtägige Seminare bereiten gezielt auf den AKAD-Abschlusstest vor. Einige Seminare können innerhalb einer Woche gebündelt belegt werden. Die Seminare finden an den Studienzentren Düsseldorf und Stuttgart, teilweise auch in Leipzig, statt. Die Vorbereitungsmodule finden im Studienzentrum in Stuttgart statt. Nähere Informationen siehe Links.

Außerhalb Deutschland kann man Übersetzen an der New Yorker Universität studieren, einen Link dazu gibt es ebenfalls hier.

Zurück nach oben


Welche Kosten kommen auf einen zu?

Beim AKAD belaufen sich die Kosten innerhalb der Regelstudienzeit auf insgesamt 5.208,- EUR, d.h. auf 24 Monate verteilt 217,- EUR pro Monat. Zusätzlich erheben die prüfenden Ministerien eine einmalige Prüfungsgebühr, die derzeit je nach Bundesland ca. EUR 332,- beträgt. Der Studiengang gilt im Zuge einer Weiterbildung als förderungswürdig.

Zurück nach oben


Muss man einen Computer und einen Internetanschluss haben?

Die Möglichkeit, privat auf einen Computer und Internetzugang Zugriff zu haben erleichtert das Studieren natürlich ungemein. Im Hinblick darauf, dass ein ausgebildeter Übersetzer seine Aufträge so gut wie ausschließlich über die elektronischen Medien vermittelt bekommt und deshalb auch im Umgang mit Computern sehr versiert sein muss, muss man sagen, dass es spätestens nach Ende der Ausbildung unabdingbar ist, einen Computer zu besitzen und Zugang zum Internet zu haben um in der Arbeitswelt bestehen oder überhaupt Fuß fassen zu können. Das Studium an sich kann allerdings meist auch ohne diese Hilfsmittel absolviert werden. Es gibt z.B. Kurse wie Linguaphone (www.linguaphone.de) die mit Büchern und Kassetten arbeiten.

Zurück nach oben