Objectivism in Philosophy and Teaching Methodology

The following article has the aim to deal more practically with what constructivism criticizes. In this context, terms such as objectivistic and objectivism are often heard.

The Philosophy of Objectivism

The only thing that the philosophies of objectivism and constructivism have in common is the conviction that there is a reality apart from the individual. Yet, they offer incompatible answers to the question of epistemology on the human capacity for understanding.
While from a constructivist point of view, a human being constructs his own reality, objectivists say that human experiences play only a minor role in structuring the world, as “meaning is something that exists in the world quite aside from experience” (Duffe/Jonassen 2). Consequently, knowledge is considered as existing externally and independent from the learner.  That means, it corresponds to the accurate representation of objectivistic reality (Bernstein 9).  Thus, we can conclude that the aim of learning is to acquire knowledge of objects, their characteristics and interactions.

Variations of objectivism are, for example, the symbol-theoretical copy theory, naive realism and the Philosophy of Common Sense. They are all based on the existence of an objective reality that is to be perceived - and not, as constructivists claim, created.
The Russian-American writer and philosopher Ayn Rand holds the same conviction. She seems to be the only one to call herself an objectivist. She was the founder of the Philosophy of Objectivism, which is based on fundamental statements on metaphysics, epistemology, ethics, and politics. The following of her statements are useful for our purposes:


Traditional Teaching Methods and Objectivist Approaches to Didactics

From an epistemological or philosophical point of view, constructivism can be seen as a counterpart to objectivism. However, when didactics is concerned, constructivism does not only dissociate itself from the methods of knowledge transfer consciously referring to objectivism, but also from the traditional teaching method. Although  frequently used as a negative example by constructivists, the traditional method cannot simply be attributed to conscious objectivistic approaches. Teaching methods may have been developed on a basis of a constructivist epistemology and employed with conviction. Nevertheless, the traditional teaching method is normally not chosen due to objectivistic conviction but simply because it is the method most common.
As a conclusion, the use of the traditional teaching method does not explicitly mean that it is based on objectivist convictions. In the same way, an objectivist conviction does not necessarily lead to a traditional way of teaching.
For instance, Ayn Rand advocates the philosophy of objectivism, yet her considerations on how knowledge is transferred do not lead to the traditional teaching method. On the contrary, the long-standing head of the Ayn Rand Institute clearly dissociates himself from the traditional teaching method as well as from the progressive one and defends the position of Montessori ("Ayn Rand And Education").

Education homepage of the Ayn Rand Institute

Description of a Traditional Classroom

The methods used in traditional classrooms leave room to conclude that they are based on objectivistic theories. As constructivists tend to illustrate and distinguish their own approaches to teaching before this background, the following paragraphs give further information on the traditional approach to teaching. However, this description is simplified and does not represent a philosophy or an approach declared by any educational institution.

In a traditional situation of teaching and learning,  the teacher transmits his knowledge of the subject (or, the knowledge he considers relevant) as an expert to a less educated group of students. The teacher is the one who is primarily active, while the students acquire the knowledge offered without communicating with each other. Their learning progress is examined regularly in tests designed by the teacher. This method is based on the assumption that it is possible for the teacher to determine what his students should know. The teacher assumes that the goals he or she sets can be achieved. For this purpose, the material to be transmitted is analyzed and subdivided into units that are to be transmitted to the students one by one (cf. the Instructional Design Theory by Gagné). In this process, the material gradually becomes more difficult. At the same time, this method is designed to match the learning ability of the average learner.

Comparison of constructivist and traditional classrooms

Seen from a purely hypothetical viewpoint, it would consequently be possible to classify this traditional teaching method as being derived from the philosophy of objectivism. However, it seems that there is no literature in which an author chooses a traditional teaching method due to an objectivistic conviction. Therefore, one can only argue that those who prefer such a traditional classroom structure can be assigned to objectivism because of the means and methods he or she chooses to apply.
As indicated before, there are some approaches to teaching that are based on objectivistic convictions. Among them are Gagné's Instructional Design Theory as well as behavioristic learning systems.

Instructional Design Theory
Behavioristic Learning Systems

The Problems of Traditional Teaching Methods

Traditional teaching methods can lead to a variety of problems. The focus on imitation, obedience, repetition and control often shown in these methods leads to a neglect of an individual's creative abilities in favor of skills that are purely mechanical and repetitive. An abandonment of this strict concentration on human intellect in favor of a holistic person that is to be encouraged, strengthened and motivated would immensely increase the person's abilities.
Furthermore, some schools and universities take the speed of learning of an average leaner as a basis for their teaching methods. However, repeated tests could not verify the assumption that the speed of learning is more or less the same for all learners. All individuals learn at a different rate. Furthermore, it seems that individuals are able to make astonishing progress under favorable conditions. Consequently, only a small part of the human learning ability is used in traditional teaching methods.
In traditional classes, learners strive to acquire the material offered by the teacher. At the same time, they try to estimate what the teacher expects of them and consequently put main emphasis on the respective topics when learning. This prevailing concentration on tests and the consequence that many learning activities are out of touch with reality can result in situations where the learner learns only selectively and forgets the knowledge he/she acquired very soon after the test or has difficulties applying it in new situations.

In contrast to the philosophy of constructivism, constructivistic approaches to teaching methods are still developing and not free of contradictions. Nevertheless, these approaches can be seen as an attempt to introduce new ways of teaching and tackle with the problems mentioned before in order to solve them.




Constructivism

Comparison



Bibliography

Objektivismus in Philosophie und Didaktik

Ziel des hier folgenden Artikels ist es, sich etwas näher mit dem zu befassen, gegen das sich der Konstruktivismus wendet. In diesem Zusammenhang fallen oft Worte wie objektivistisch und Objektivismus.

Philosophie des Objektivismus

Die Philosophie des Objektivismus hat mit der des Konstruktivismus lediglich die Überzeugung gemein, dass es eine außerhalb des Subjekts existierende Realität gibt. Sie liefern jedoch unvereinbare Antworten auf die Frage der Epistemologie nach der Erkenntnisfähigkeit des Menschen.
Eine Definition dieser epistemologischen Denkrichtung besagt, dass es "vom erkennenden und wertenden Subjekt unabhängige Wahrheiten und Werte gibt" (Meyers enzyklopädisches Lexikon). Während also der Mensch im Konstruktivismus sich seine eigene Realität konstruiert, spielt für den Objektivisten die menschliche Erfahrung bei der Strukturierung der Welt nur eine untergeordnete Rolle. "... meaning is something that exists in the world quite aside from experience" (Duffe/Jonassen 2). Wissen wird also als etwas angesehen, das extern und unabhängig vom Lernenden existiert und entspricht demnach der korrekten Spiegelung oder Repräsentation dieser objektiven Realität (Bernstein 9). Ziel des Lernens ist es also, "Kenntnis der existierenden Objekte, ihrer Eigenschaften und Beziehungen, zu erlangen".

Spielarten des Objektivismus sind beispielsweise die symboltheoretische Abbildtheorie, der naive Realismus und die Philosophie des Common Sense. Sie alle gründen auf der Existenz einer objektiven Realität, die es wahrzunehmen - anstatt, wie die Konstruktivisten behaupten, zu schaffen - gilt.
Dieser Überzeugung ist auch die russisch-amerikanische Schriftstellerin und Philosophin Ayn Rand. Sie scheint die einzige zu sein, die sich selbst als Objektivistin bezeichnet. Die von ihr begründete Philosophie des Objektivismus gründet sich auf fundamentale Aussagen über die Bereiche der Metaphysik, der Epistemologie, der Ethik und der Politik. Folgende ihrer Aussagen sind für uns von Nutzen:


Traditioneller Unterricht und objektivistische Denkansätze in der Didaktik

Auf epistemologischer bzw. philosophischer Ebene kann der Konstruktivismus als ein Gegenpol zum Objektivismus verstanden werden. Auf didaktischer Ebene grenzt sich der Konstruktivismus jedoch nicht nur gegen Formen der Wissensvermittlung ab, die sich bewusst auf den Objektivismus beziehen, sondern auch gegen die traditionelle Form des Unterrichts. Letztere kann, obwohl sie häufig von Konstruktivisten als Negativbeispiel verwendet wird, nicht ohne weiteres auf bewusste objektivistische Denkansätze zurückgeführt werden. Konstruktivistisch begründete Unterrichtsformen mögen auf Basis einer konstruktivistischen Epistemologie entwickelt worden sein und aus Überzeugung eingesetzt werden; die traditionelle Methode des Unterrichts jedoch wird meist nicht aus objektivistischer Überzeugung gewählt, sondern vielmehr weil es sich bei ihr um die am weitesten verbreitete handelt.
Die Anwendung der traditionellen Unterrichtsmethode lässt also keine eindeutigen Rückschlüsse auf eine objektivistische Überzeugung zu; genausowenig wie eine objektivistische Überzeugung notwendigerweise zu einer traditionellen Form des Unterrichts führen muss. So vertritt beispielsweise Ayn Rand die Philosophie des Objektivismus, ohne dass ihre Überlegungen zu Wissensvermittlung zur traditionellen Unterrichtsmethode führen. Statt dessen distanziert sich der langjährige Leiter des Ayn Rand Instituts klar sowohl von den traditionellen Formen des Unterrichts als auch von der progressiven und vertritt die Position von Montessori ("Ayn Rand And Education").

Education homepage des Ayn Rand Instituts

Beschreibung der traditionellen Unterrichtssituation

Die im traditionellen Unterricht verwendeten Methoden lassen jedoch Raum für Rückschlüsse auf eine solche objektivistische Grundlage. Da Konstruktivisten häufig ihre eigenen Lehransätze vor diesem Hintergrund darstellen und abgrenzen, wird im folgenden gerade auf diesen traditionellen Lehransatz näher eingegangen. Es handelt sich bei dieser vereinfachten Beschreibung jedoch nicht um eine an einer Bildungseinrichtung vertretende Philosophie bzw. Vorgehensweise.

In einer traditionellen Lehr-Lern-Situation vermittelt der Lehrer als Experte sein Fachwissen (bzw. von ihm als relevant erachtetes Wissen) einer weniger gebildeten Gruppe von Schülern. Hierbei ist primär der Lehrer aktiv; die Schüler eignen sich das dargebotene Wissen an, ohne untereinander zu kommunizieren. Ihr Lernerfolg wird in regelmäßigen Abständen mittels vom Lehrer konzipierter Tests überprüft.
Diese Vorgehensweise gründet in der Annahme, dass es dem Lehrer möglich ist, zu bestimmen, was seine Schüler wissen müssen. Er geht davon aus, dass diese von ihm festgelegten Lernziele erreicht werden können. Zu diesem Zweck wird der zu vermittelnde Stoff analysiert und in Einheiten unterteilt, die den Schülern dann nacheinander vermittelt werden (vgl. Gagnés Instructional Design-Theorie). Hierbei wird die Komplexität des Stoffes schrittweise gesteigert und gleichzeitig dem Lernniveau eines durchschnittlichen Lerners angepasst.

Gegenüberstellung konstruktivistischen und traditionellen Unterrichts

Rein hypothetisch wäre es also möglich, diese althergebrachte Form des Unterrichts aufgrund ihrer hier beschriebenen Eigenschaften und Merkmale der Philosophie des Objektivismus zuzuordnen. Meines Wissens findet sich jedoch keine Literatur, in der sich jemand aus objektivistischer Überzeugung für die traditionelle Form des Unterrichts ausspricht. Es ließe sich also lediglich argumentieren, dass, wer einen solchen Unterrichtsaufbau bevorzugt, aufgrund der Wahl der Mittel und Wege dem Objektivismus zugeordnet werden könnte.
Wie bereits angedeutet existieren jedoch durchaus Lehransätze, die sich auf objektivistische Überzeugungen gründen. Hierzu gehören unter anderem Gagnés Instructional Design Theory und behavioristische Lernsysteme.

Instructional Design Theory
Behavioristische Lernsysteme

Problematik traditioneller Formen des Unterrichts

Die Probleme dieser traditionellen oder herkömmlichen Form des Unterrichts sind vielseitig. Die häufig ersichtliche Konzentration auf Imitation, Gehorsam, Wiederholung und Kontrolle führt zu einer Vernachlässigung der kreativen Fähigkeiten des Menschen zu Gunsten von rein mechanischen, repetitiven Fertigkeiten. Ein Aufgeben dieser alleinigen Konzentration auf den menschlichen Intellekt zu Gunsten einer ganzheitlichen Person, die es zu fördern, zu stärken und zu animieren gilt, würden dessen Fähigkeiten immens steigern.
Des Weiteren wird an Schulen und Universitäten zumeist vom Lerntempo eines durchschnittlichen Lernenden ausgegangen. Wiederholte Tests konnten die Annahme, dass das Lerntempo von Lernenden mehr oder weniger gleich ist, jedoch nicht bestätigen. Individuen lernen mit sehr unterschiedlichem Tempo und scheinen darüber hinaus in der Lage zu sein, bei passenden Bedingungen erstaunlich plötzliche und umfassende Fortschritte zu erzielen. Demzufolge wird bei traditionellen Unterrichtsmethoden nur ein kleiner Teil der menschlichen Lernfähigkeit genutzt. (vgl. Britanica)
Während der Lernende sich im traditionellen Unterricht darum bemüht, sich die vom Lehrer dargebotenen Inhalte anzueignen, versucht er gleichzeitig, die Erwartungen des Lehrers abzuschätzen und konzentriert sich beim Lernen auf diese Schwerpunkte. Diese vorherrschende Konzentration auf Prüfungen und der (dadurch) oft fehlende Realitätsbezug können zur Folge haben, dass der Lernende nur selektiv lernt und sein erworbenes Wissen sehr schnell wieder vergisst bzw. es nur schwer auf eine neue Situation anwenden kann.

Zwar sind konstruktivistische Lehrmethoden im Gegensatz zur Philosophie des Konstruktivismus noch lange nicht ausgereift und widerspruchsfrei; all diese Ansätzen sind jedoch auch ein Versuch, neue Wege im Unterricht zu gehen und die oben genannten Probleme anzugehen und zu beheben.




Konstruktivismus

Gegenüberstellung



Bibliographie